Free From It All Now

  • BlogHer10 Sponsor

    Your Ad Here
  • BlogHer10 Sponsor

    Your Ad Here
  • BlogHer10 Sponsor

    Your Ad Here
  • BlogHer10 Sponsor

    Your Ad Here

#HouseWifeFAIL

Posted by ThePsychobabble on August 14, 2009

I am the ultimate #housewifeFAIL

There. I said it. I suck at housewife-yness. I don’t have the mad skills that some people do. I’m not organized, I don’t feel the need to clean the grout, and most of the time, I can live with the “lick and a promise” method of cleaning.

The Man is driven nuts by this.

I’m sorry, but I have a very hard time being motivated to clean and/or cook when 1)it goes completely unappreciated, 2)it’s not going to meet “standard” anyway, 3)I’m not going to get (hardly) any help and 4) it’s all going to be undone the minute I turn my back.

But to insinuate that I am a bad mother because my floor needs sweeping or I’ve forgotten to bag the recycling, or that my child is sick (with chicken pox, mind you) because of my #housekeepingFAIL is just a tad over-dramatic.

And don’t even get me started on, “But what do you DO?”

It’s not that I have some aversion to living in a picture perfect house, it’s just that I realize that’s not going to happen. And I’m not going to expend sweat, blood and tears trying to make the impossible come true, all on my own.

Could the house be cleaner? Absolutely.
Would that be a bad thing? No, sure wouldn’t.
But it’s not going to happen if the work is left to fall solely on my shoulders.

One Response to “#HouseWifeFAIL”

  1. lisa said

    I wouldn’t count on being the ultimate, I might be worse than you. At least I have a baby for an excuse right now. My real reasons are that seeing how fast things get bad again literally makes me cry & I can never get things as clean as I think they should be, so why spend time doing anything when I’ll still think it’s dirty after I’m “done”

Leave a Reply

 
