Free From It All Now

  • BlogHer10 Sponsor

    Your Ad Here
  • BlogHer10 Sponsor

    Your Ad Here
  • BlogHer10 Sponsor

    Your Ad Here
  • BlogHer10 Sponsor

    Your Ad Here

Heart Breaker

Posted by ThePsychobabble on July 23, 2009

My son was terrified the other night. He woke up screaming. I want upstairs. I brought him down before he woke up his sister.

NOTHING could comfort this child. Nothing. He was sobbing so hard that he could barely breathe. The Man took him while I fixed him a sippy cup, thinking that would calm him down. I sat down on the couch next to him, and still sobbing and screaming he crawled over to me. He wedged himself between me and the couch. He clutched his blanket, his bear and his cup, and then sobbed himself to sleep.

There was just nothing I could do to comfort him. Nothing worked. It was the most awful experience. Knowing that he was scared of something, but not being able to do anything about it. I don’t want to relive that any time soon.

3 Responses to “Heart Breaker”

  1. AmyD said

    I’ve been through nights like that… that would definitely be the downside to parenting and it really hurts.

  2. Sara said

    I am a slacker all the time. It was nice “meeting” you last night. You rock and thanks for the reminders on kids growing up. Some days I feel like I will be stuck in this twilight zone For- Evah! See you tonight.

  3. That is the worst feeling. It makes your heart hurt just watching them. He’s lucky to have a mom like you

Leave a Reply

 
