Free From It All Now

  • BlogHer10 Sponsor

    Your Ad Here
  • BlogHer10 Sponsor

    Your Ad Here
  • BlogHer10 Sponsor

    Your Ad Here
  • BlogHer10 Sponsor

    Your Ad Here

Multi-Media-Tasking

Posted by ThePsychobabble on July 13, 2009

We watch t.v. at our house. Probably a wee bit too much. Both The Man and I grew up in households where the television was used as a background noise. Constantly on, whether anyone was really paying attention or not.

And I catch myself doing the same thing as an adult. I’ll be reading a book and watching a movie at the same time. Or Question and I will be coloring and watching a certain pint-sized Spanish-speaking explorer(that? is a whole ‘nother post) at the same time.

I’m torn on how I feel about that. On one hand, old habits die hard, and it’s hard to fathom that multi-media-tasking could be all that horrible. On the other hand, my children already have a few disadvantages, do they *really?* need another (possible) hinderance?

So, we’re cutting back. I’m not brave or foolish enough to cut it out altogether. But I have decided that it will not go on in the AM, and that after “quiet time” in the afternoon, it will go BACK OFF until after supper.

Now I just need to figure out how to handle everyone’s withdrawal symptoms…

Leave a Reply

 
